Package Design

My next graphic design project is a package design. I’m pretty excited about it, and I hear it’s pretty much the favorite project of most design students. At least here. I have a few ideas of subjects, but deciding which one is always the hardest part of any project for me. It’s so much easier for someone to just assign me something and let me go design.

Anyways, my ideas are some new type of packaging for Fresh Market’s products – the ones that are actually theirs. Their packaging is a little weak . . . it’s just those annoying plastic containers which are a struggle to get open and closed. Let’s see, another one is designing a cool setup for the Clinique 3-Step Skin Care System. Right now it just comes in a clear plastic bag. I think it would be nice to have some type of stand or box you could carry back and forth to the bathroom or maybe even “display” it in. (Can you tell I live in a dorm? Most people would probably just leave it in the bathroom.) I also thought about doing something else with a cosmetic line, but those are actually pretty good normally. Household products have struggles with their packaging sometimes . . . think of the yellow rubber gloves and stuff.

Oh well. A friend of mine told me food is the best option. Maybe that’s because on the product testing day you can just keep on eating without feeling guilty. I have till Tuesday to decide, though. So this weekend may be spent at the stores. Won’t that be fun.

Leave a Reply

