A Christmas Story

So . . . I actually thought about labeling this one “Brokeback” but that would just be too much.

Last nite (this morning) I went to bed around 1:30.  I set my alarms for 9:00 and 9:15. Around 7:30 I heard a scream and a large crash. From my mother. As soon as I heard it, I knew what had happened. She fell down the stairs. I debated about getting up and decided to go check on her.

There she was, laying on her back, moaning in pain. I was glad that I’m a certified lifeguard. I felt helpful. My dad was standing there trying to decide what to do, and I wouldn’t let him move her. You just don’t play around when it’s a back problem. She begged us for like 10 minutes not to call an ambulance. “It’ll wear off. I think I’m just stunned.” But after a little while, I talked dad into the ambulance and we convinced her that she needed to get x-rays.

The ambulance came, took her to the nearest hospital, and within an hour, we were told she had broken a vertebra in her back. Thankfully, the break is in a spot where paralysis isn’t going to occur. So basically she’s just dealing with a LOT of soreness and pain for the next week+. She walked into the house when she got back and was walking slowly, but she’s able to still get around.

She refused a morphine shot because she wanted to be coherent enough to enjoy the day and open presents. Honestly, it was one of the best Christmases I remember.

We were a family.

2 thoughts on “A Christmas Story

  1. Wow Audrey,
    That is quite the story. I’m glad yall were able to be together but I’msorry ot hear about your mom. I will do my best to remeber her in my prayers. Any word from Creative Services.

  2. Kelly says:

    Audrey I’m so glad that you were there to keep your dad form doing anything stupid! I will definitely be praying for your mom.

Leave a Reply

