Sick as a Dog

Wow. I honestly don’t remember a time when I’ve been this sick. It’s gross. But I think I made the turn and should be feeling better tomorrow.

I was pretty out of it Monday night. Since it was New Year’s Day, I only had to work 3:00 – 7:00, so that was good. We did the traditional Chinese takeout for dinner that night and it was good. Not the best I’ve ever had, but still decent. I was super tired by the end of the night, though, and decided to hit bed a little early. So I went upstairs around 12:00, tried to sleep with this massively pounding headache that was attacking me. I finally got to sleep about 1.5 hours later.

Then it all started. At 2:30, I woke up and decided that something was not right, as they say in the Madeline books. I headed to the bathroom for the first of many times. Between 2:30 and 8:30, I managed to puke about 9 times. It was no fun. I’ve never puked so hard in my life, and I’ve had some decent illnesses.

By the end of everything, I had nothing left to give. Seriously, I was puking straight stomach acid. It was vile. There were “other problems” too. Lol. I had a serious fever going all day yesterday but my feet and nose felt like they were soaking in ice vats. Mom gave me water (1 teaspoon full at a time). I was able to keep that down, and I was craving Sprite, so we decided to try that (1 teaspoon full at a time as well). We also had some old popsicles in the freezer, so I ate one of those. When I was able to keep all that down, she got me a few glasses of Sprite and then recommended that I go get a bath to make me feel better.

That was probably around 2:30. I got my bath and it did feel really good. Then I decided to wash my hair and stuff, and I think the smell of the shampoo made me sick. I definitely puked again – all that Sprite. I climbed into bed and slept for like 4 hours.
We checked my fever around 8:00 last nite and it was 102. Mom called a pharmacy to ask what would be best to give me, and I ended up taking this Tylenol flu pill thing because I was aching all over like crazy. It helped, and my fever broke sometime in the middle of the night.

I’m feeling pretty decent today – still pretty sore and slightly queasy. I’m loving popsicles (the orange ones) and water. The mention of food is not a good thing, so maybe I’ll lose a little weight off of this.

A couple bad things . . . I was supposed to be helping out Dad this week answering phones at his business because their receptionist is gone. That would’ve paid probably $8.00-$10.00/hour going at 6 hours a day. I really could’ve used that money. Also, I’m losing another 14 hours of work at Chick-fil-A which means that’s like $90 more gone. It could be worse. Plus Dad ate my won-ton soup the other night when I couldn’t finish it. So he’ll probably get this, too.

All that to say, I wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy. It’s gross.

One thought on “Sick as a Dog

  1. kellyfaye says:

    audrey if there was any way i could get myself to tennessee to be with you right now, i would. i am SO sorry, friend. i will be praying for you. btw, i would be honored if you stole my shout out idea. thanks for commenting on my blog and for encouraging me. you are such a wonderful friend that i am blessed to call mine! :)

Leave a Reply

