no secrets

Ok. I know you’re out there.

You people who read my blog and then run in hiding. Or maybe you’re not running in hiding . . . I should probably give you the benefit of the doubt – maybe you don’t own a keyboard or have a total of 2 fingers. There has to be some really great excuse for your lack of comments! [Tommy Ferris, Alex George . . . ] Granted, my posts don’t always require a response, but it’s nice to know who’s watching.

Now that we’ve gotten that little formality out of the way . . .

I don’t know what to do with myself. My parents have persuaded me out of working for the month before I go to California. Yes. That’s right. They want me to continue to mooch or something. They feel like I just need to rest after having such an intense semester. [The equivalent of a full-time job between my internship and Vintage while taking 12 credits of classes on top of all that.]

Last summer I set out to read quite a few books. I read some amazing things. This May, I hope to get through another 9 or more. So . . . here’s the summer reading list

Emma by Jane Austen
Crime and Punishment by Dostoyevsky
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (again)
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Love to Eat, Hate to Eat by Elyse Fitzpatrick
Not Even a Hint by Joshua Harris (again)
Attributes of God (vol. 1 and 2) by A.W. Tozer
What is Modesty by Michelle Brock
When People are Big and God is Small by Edward Welch
Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer
When I Don’t Desire God (How to Fight for Joy) by John Piper
The Divine Conspiracy by Willard
Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

The list will probably continue to grow. I have great intentions for my summer.

We’ll see what happens.

3 thoughts on “no secrets

  1. i know how you feel about those little web trolls. they come, they read, they run. they do it to my site too. ;)

    sounds like a pretty good book list. i’m reading ‘don’t waste your life’ by piper and it’s really good. i loved pursuit of God too. however, i’m not a big reader so your list inspires and intimidates me. good luck!

  2. First, I would like to say it was quite a shock (albeit, an honor) to see my name made it onto your blog! :) Second, in my defense, my blog reading habits are probably slightly abnormal; I read in chunks periodically rather than the frantic daily checking thing. Third, the aforementioned aside, I will stop being one of those “read and run” people and start commenting! :)

  3. ok, I have to post again. 2 times in less than a couple minutes might be a record for me. Just to clarify, even though this is showing up under Stephen’s name this is Tommy posting.

Leave a Reply

