face it.

I was reading the other night. This made me think:

Don’t judge God by what your situation is; judge your situation by who God is.

I keep thinking about that.

Within the last couple of years, there was this time when I was just right there with God. I was closer than I’ve ever been. My mind was consumed with things spiritual. And I wish I was still there. I’m close to God, and I feel like I’m in His will, but I don’t have the same fellowship with Him. I’m not really sure what changed. I have a couple ideas, though.

For 9 months of that time, I was really seeking out God’s will. There was a certain situation I constantly brought before the Lord. I don’t think I’ve prayed so hard about something in my life. I had taken Psalm 37 as my promise. My key words were delight . commit . trust . rest . wait . That’s a lot easier to say than do, but I felt like I was doing a good job of it. I told God I was cool with whatever His will was for my life, and I meant it. I always do.

But when He told me no, after 9 months of hard prayer and really asking every step of the way if I was on the right track . . . asking for some sign to know . . . hoping to keep my heart out of it . . . when He said no, I was devastated. I remember saying to my mom, “I prayed about this for so long. This isn’t how it’s supposed to happen. I don’t understand why the outcome is still the same. I’m not supposed to be hurting.” But I did. It was almost like I had trusted God with my situation, feeling I met the qualifiers of Psalm 37:4 . . . and truly wishing my desires to be changed to be His. I just expected it to happen sooner than 9 months in and without any pain.

But I serve a bigger God.

It took me a while to realize that. Sometimes I still feel like I’m having trouble really trusting God. I’ve found myself actually questioning if I can trust God with something . . . since He let me down last time. Wow. How awful. But that’s where I was. And I said it more than once.

God is a lot bigger than any situation I could ever get myself into. How ignorant to judge my God based on what happens in my circumstances . . . in my life. After seeing the promises in Psalms – no good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly . . . He opens His hand and satisfies the desires of every living thing . . . He will give thee the desires of thine heart – why do I have trouble trusting?

My skewed vision.

Judge the situation by who God is.
Simple solution.

Leave a Reply

